TRA Member Tracks

The Thoroughbred Racing Associations (TRA) was formed in 1942 when World War II threatened to force a halt to all racing in the country. Realizing the Thoroughbred industry needed guidance and a plan to continue some racing to ensure the continuation of Thoroughbred breeding, Alfred G. Vanderbilt, then president of Pimlico and Belmont Park, planted the seed to form a commission of racetracks.

The first conference held in Chicago on March 19, 1942, attracted a who’s who of racing at the time, including Jockey Club chairman William Woodward, prominent breeder A.B. Hancock, and track presidents Henry Parr III and Carleton F. Burke, among others. From that seed, the TRA grew. In 2016, the TRA has 44 member associations conducting racing at 40 racetracks in the United States and Canada.

Member Tracks: (Click each track for info from the TRA Directory & Record Book)

For track purse information, see The Jockey Club Owner View